2024 Mississippi Opioid Summit Agenda

Time Topic and Speakers
8:30 a.m. Registration
9:00 a.m Welcome and Overview of Emerging Trends in Substance Use Disorders Related to Mississippi- Attorney General Lynn Fitch, Joey Flowers, Brian Welton, Steven Maxwell
10:00 a.m. Break
10:15 a.m. Session I

  • Clinical Track: Dr. Drew Blackstock and Dr. Peter Hossler
    Demonstrate enhanced skills in building trust, providing non-judgmental care and engaging in collaborative decision-making with patients who use drugs, thereby improving health outcomes and promoting access to health care services for this population. Identify stigma reduction, harm reduction principles and patient-centered approaches to care.
  • Law Enforcement Track: Lt. Robert Whitten
    Distinguish how opioids affect the human body and discuss how pharmaceutical opiates contribute to the current opioid epidemic.
  • Prevention/Recovery: Stephanie Strutner
    Explaining the concept of primary prevention within the framework of substance use disorder.
11:15 a.m. Break
11:30 a.m. Keynote Speaker/Lunch – Dr. Stephen Loyd
12:45 p.m. Q&A with Keynote Speaker
1:00 p.m. Break
1:15 p.m. Session II

  • Clinical Track: Sid Seal
    Examine evidenced based treatment modules that have been successful in improving health outcomes in patients with substance use disorder and identify the role of health care professionals in recognizing and addressing substance use disorder within the context of the drug supply chain.
  • Law Enforcement Track: Lt. Robert Whitten
    Recognize ways to stay safe when dealing with illicit opioids, and identify the use and benefits of naloxone.
  • Prevention/Recovery: Recovery Panel- David Magee, Barry Doughty, Charlotte Bryant
    Emphasize the importance of ongoing support and aftercare in sustaining recovery. Discuss strategies to reduce stigma and promote a supportive environment while identifying treatment options to enhance recovery efforts in the North Mississippi region.
2:15 p.m. Break
2:25 p.m. Closing Remarks/Panel Q&A: Dr. Drew Blackstock, Tiffany Tine, Sid Seal, Steven Maxwell
3:00 p.m. Adjourn